It never goes the way you planned - Reisverslag uit Khett Batdambang, Cambodja van Jacqueline Jacobs - WaarBenJij.nu It never goes the way you planned - Reisverslag uit Khett Batdambang, Cambodja van Jacqueline Jacobs - WaarBenJij.nu

It never goes the way you planned

Door: webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jacqueline

23 November 2010 | Cambodja, Khett Batdambang

Helloo Again!

Now from Battambang!

Last Friday I ended my last week of volunteering! I didn’t want to leave all the kids behind because I teached them for six weeks, but on the other hand I was exciting because now I could start my real traveling! So Thursday and Friday I said goodbye to teachers and children and ofcourse my little monks! We made photo’s, sung songs, hugged each other and then on Friday at 15:30 My tuc tuc arrived to pick me up and brought me back to baca villa. That weekend was the water festival with boat races and party and on Sunday they would set “little boats” with candles on the river to scare away the evil spirits. So I decided to stay the weekend in Siem reap and leave on Monday morning to Battambang.

First my last week as a volunteer. It went by as usually. I teached the monks in the morning, I still had my funny class (what was harder to do without you Yanthe!) and in the evening roemdeng and chukk. In between I also brought food on Monday and Thursday to the families, prepared the lessons with von. Teacher Oeng who had also his class at 2 o’clock moved his lesson to 4 o’clock, and as we know children come and go as they like, I even had a bigger class at 2 o’clock. Now I had Oengs and my class in one big class! And sometimes they drove me crazy! But all went well and I survived my last week :p

I want to thank everybody who donated some money. In the end I bought 2 book cabinets for two schools. Jan got new books and to make sure the books stay in the school building they need to lock them up. So that’s why the new book cabinets. Furthermore I bought for 18 children new school clothes!! The whole package: a bag, some writing books, pens, a balloon and some candy and ofcourse a skirt/trousers with a blouse and flip flops. Some visitors also brought some baby clothes and these we brought to some families as well on Thursday.

So after my last week in chhuk I went back to siem reap. Got another massage ofcourse! :d Had a nice and loooonnng shower:d and on Sunday I went to the river for the lights against the bad spirits. It looked really beautifull! I will try to upload some pictures. After that I went to the pubstreet to eat something and there I met a guy from Ireland and a guy from Uruguay. We talked all night and drunk some cocktails. :) The next morning I had planned to take the bus to Battambang at 08:30. Ofcourse something went wrong and at 08:30 I wasn’t in the bus to Battambang but still figuring out if I could go to battambang the same day or the next day. Something went wrong with my ticket, that means there was no ticket al all for me! :s So after a lot of stressing (not from my side;p) Pheap arranged that I could leave with the bus that leaves at 10:30. Aaarrggg got up so early for nothing.. But it is still Cambodia! haha so I went back to bed for an hour and a half trying to get rid of my hangover.
And at 10:30 I was finally in my bus on the way to Battambang! Now I’m settled in the Royal hotel with a really nice room :) I even have two showers!! I don’t know why I think it was a mistake.. Cambodian logic… I arranged a tuc tuc this afternoon for a sightseeing tour, the bamboo train, the local market, some temples and the beautiful countryside ;) wit a beautiful sunset. And after that maybe circus show. That’s what my tuctuc driver is suggesting haha we will see.

Furthermore I think to go to Sihanoukville tomorrow evening with the night bus. It takes the bus about 10 hours!! so saving some money on a hostel and hopefully sleeping the whole journey, we will see.

That was my update for this week again!

Love,

Jacqueline


  • 23 November 2010 - 06:26

    Yanthe:

    Hey jacqueline, haha ja de funnyclass zal wel een stuk drukker zijn als je het alleen moet doen, maar goed om te lezen dat je deze twee weken toch nog overleefd hebt:)! ik ben nog steeds jaloers op je... het is hier koud. Ik zag op tv over de waterfeesten dat er heel veel mensen in phnom penh omgekomen waren door verdrukking e.d. maar goed dat jij veilig in siem reap gebleven bent!:)
    geniet nog van alles.
    liefs yanthe

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jacqueline

We gaan weer een nieuw avontuur tegenmoet!! ik ga 3 maanden naar azie toe:D

Actief sinds 09 Jan. 2009
Verslag gelezen: 256
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15875

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Oktober 2010 - 24 December 2010

Vrijwilligerswerk en backpacken

30 Januari 2009 - 04 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: